Lifestyle

Axis Bank Revises Fees for PRIORITY Savings Account Effective Dec 1 2026

· GlobeWire Daily Lifestyle Desk · Source: www.desidime.com

Axis Bank Revises Fees for PRIORITY Savings Account Effective Dec 1 2026

Original GlobeWire Daily editorial illustration — not an event photograph.

Share this article
Key takeaways Summary of the announcement Axis Bank has issued a notice to holders of its **PRIORITY Savings Account** that several fees will change on **1 December 2026**. While the account continues to offer a suite of premium benefits – such as a complimentary Axis Direct Demat

Summary of the announcement

Axis Bank has issued a notice to holders of its PRIORITY Savings Account that several fees will change on 1 December 2026. While the account continues to offer a suite of premium benefits – such as a complimentary Axis Direct Demat and Trading Account, a health‑insurance cover of up to ₹1 crore, and discounted locker rentals – the bank will now levy charges that were previously waived. The full list of fees can be viewed on the bank’s website under the EASY ACCESS Savings Account section.

---

New charges that will apply

| Fee type | New charge (effective 01‑12‑2026) | Previous charge | |---|---|---| | Outward cheque return (cheque issued by the account holder and returned unpaid) | ₹200 per return | ₹50 for the first return; ₹100 for each subsequent return | | Deliverable return (undelivered bank‑issued instruments/communications for NRI accounts) | ₹500 per return | ₹50 per return | | EDGE REWARD Points earnings | Discontinued | Points were previously earned on qualifying transactions | | Non‑maintenance of eligible balance/Total Relationship Value (TRV) | Charges will now apply (exact amount not disclosed) | No charge for failing to meet the balance/TRV criteria |

The notice does not specify the exact amount for the new non‑maintenance charge; customers are directed to the bank’s fee schedule for details.

---

What remains unchanged

  • Complimentary Axis Direct Demat & Trading Account – no opening fee and the first‑year depository maintenance fee is waived.
  • Health‑insurance coverage – up to ₹1 crore for the account holder and family members, provided by Aditya Birla Health Insurance.
  • Locker rental discounts – up to 50 % off on small and medium‑size lockers.
  • Dedicated Relationship Manager – personalised banking support continues.

---

Practical implications for account holders

  • Cost impact on cheque users – Customers who frequently issue cheques should anticipate a higher cost if any cheque is returned unpaid. The increase from ₹50/₹100 to a flat ₹200 per return represents a 100‑300 % rise, depending on prior usage.
  • NRI customers – The deliverable‑return charge jumps tenfold, from ₹50 to ₹500. This may affect NRIs who rely on bank‑issued documents (e.g., statements, tax forms) being mailed to them.
  • Reward program – The discontinuation of EDGE REWARD points removes a non‑cash benefit that some customers may have used for discounts or merchandise.
  • Balance requirement – Previously, failing to maintain the eligible balance or TRV did not incur a fee. The new policy introduces a charge, encouraging customers to keep higher balances or a broader relationship with the bank.
  • Budgeting – Existing customers should review the updated fee schedule on the Axis Bank website to calculate any additional monthly or annual costs.

---

How to verify the changes

  • Official source: The full notice is posted on Desidime’s discussion forum, which reproduces the bank’s communication verbatim. The original text can be accessed at: https://www.desidime.com/discussions/update-on-applicable-charges-for-2189852
  • Bank website: Navigate to the Fees & Charges section, select EASY ACCESS Savings Account from the drop‑down menu, and review the updated schedule.
  • Customer service: Axis Bank’s toll‑free numbers (1800 4030 or 1800 8911) and the dedicated NRI helpline are available for clarification.

---

What is still uncertain

  • The exact monetary amount for the new non‑maintenance charge is not disclosed in the notice.
  • Whether the revised fees apply only to the PRIORITY Savings variant or also to other EASY ACCESS accounts is not clarified; the bank’s fee schedule will contain the answer.
  • No information is provided about any grace period or possible waivers for senior citizens, students, or other special categories.

---

Context and comparison

Axis Bank’s PRIORITY Savings Account is positioned as a premium product, comparable to other Indian banks’ high‑net‑worth accounts that bundle investment, insurance, and concierge services. Historically, such accounts often waive standard fees to justify higher relationship thresholds. The new charges bring the account’s fee structure closer to that of regular savings accounts, where cheque return fees and balance‑maintenance penalties are common. Customers weighing the cost‑benefit should compare the revised fees against the value of the bundled services (e.g., free Demat account, ₹1 crore insurance) and against similar offerings from competitors such as HDFC Bank’s Prime or ICICI Bank’s Priority accounts.

---

Bottom line: From 1 December 2026, Axis Bank will impose new fees on its PRIORITY Savings Account for cheque returns, undelivered NRI communications, and failure to meet balance criteria, while discontinuing the EDGE REWARD points program. Existing benefits remain, but customers should review the updated fee schedule and assess the net impact on their banking costs.

Read the original source: Update on applicable charges for Axis Bank PRIORITY Savings Account - Desidime

AI-assisted reporting; source claims are attributed and have not been independently verified.

About the author

GlobeWire Daily Lifestyle Desk — AI-assisted news based on attributed published sources.

More to read